Demonstration Sites & the Federal Initiative

El Paso County, Colorado
Grafton County, New Hampshire
Lane County, Oregon

St. Louis County, Missouri
Santa Clara County, California
San Francisco County, California

Evaluation Report: Phase I (January 2001 June 2002)
Greenbook Interim Evaluation Report (2004)
Greenbook Initiative Final Evaluation Report (2008)


In December of 2000 and January of 2001, the U.S. Departments of Justice and Health and Human Services funded six communities under an inter-Departmental demonstration initiative: "Collaborations to Address Domestic Violence and Child Maltreatment." The six communities were: Santa Clara County, California; San Francisco, California; Lane County, Oregon; El Paso County, Colorado; St. Louis County, Missouri; and Grafton County, New Hampshire.

The demonstration required communities to implement guidelines published by the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges in the publication, "Effective Intervention in Domestic Violence & Child Maltreatment Cases: Guidelines for Policy and Practice." These guidelines, commonly referred to as the "Greenbook," are directed to child welfare agencies, community-based domestic violence providers, and dependency courts. These organizations agreed to establish collaborative structures and develop policies and procedures to enhance the safety and well-being of battered women and their children. Many other organizations contributed in important ways: law enforcement, probation and parole, prosecutors, health care providers, children's advocates, mental health providers, domestic violence survivors, and other community-based groups.

To read about each demonstration site and the products developed by each site, please click below.


This page was last modified on September 24, 2008